WWE Mae Young Classic Retrospective

TSC’s Fred Richani and Scott Anderson reflect on the inaugural WWE Mae Young Classic Tournament and what the future holds for the participants, including winner Kairi Sane, runner-up Shayna Baszler, Toni Storm, Piper Niven, Serena Deeb, Mia Yim, and many more! Plus: they predict Ronda Rousey’s involvement in WWE going forward following her multiple appearances at the Mae Young Classic and SmackDown Live.

Show your support for The Sports Courier and TSC News YouTube channel with our brand new exclusive t-shirts and hoodies available now on TeeSpring!

WWE Mae Young Classic Retrospective, What’s Next for Kairi Sane

Complete WWE Mae Young Classic 2017 Tournament Results

Round One:

  1. Abbey Laith def. Jazzy Gabert
  2. Rachel Evers def. Marti Belle
  3. Princess Sugehit def. Kay Lee Ray
  4. Mercedes Martinez def. Xia Li
  5. Nicole Savoy def. Reina Gonzalez
  6. Candice LeRae def. Renee Michelle
  7. Mia Yim def. Sarah Logan
  8. Shayna Baszler def. Zeda
  9. Kairi Sane def. Tessa Blanchard
  10. Biana Belair def. Sage Beckett
  11. Dakota Kai def. Kavita Devi
  12. Rhea Ripley def. Miranda Salinas
  13. Serena Deeb def. Vanessa Borne
  14. Piper Niven def. Santana Garrett
  15. Lacey Evans def. Taynara Conti
  16. Toni Storm def. Ayesha Raymond

Round Two:

  1. Abbey Laith def. Rachel Evers
  2. Mercedes Martinez def. Princess Sugehit
  3. Candice LeRae def. Nicole Savoy
  4. Shayna Baszler def. Mia Yim
  5. Kairi Sane def. Bianca Belair
  6. Dakota Kai def. Rhea Ripley
  7. Piper Niven def. Serena Deeb
  8. Toni Storm def. Lacey Evans


  1. Mercedes Martinez def. Abbey Laith
  2. Shayna Baszler def. Candice LeRae
  3. Kairi Sane def. Dakota Kai
  4. Toni Storm def. Piper Niven


  1. Shayna Baszler def. Mercedes Martinez
  2. Kairi Sane def. Toni Storm

Finals: Kairi Sane def. Shayna Baszler to win the Mae Young Classic and a WWE NXT Women’s Championship match at NXT TakeOver: Houston in November.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *